Heathrow opens terminal for Red List country arrivals

London Heathrow has opened a dedicated terminal for its passengers arriving into the UK from countries currently on the Red List; those with a high risk of Covid. 

These arrivals will now transit through Terminal 3. Heathrow has opened this due to its top priority being protecting the public and helping to reduce the risk of new variants. 

There are currently 43 destinations on the red list, however, only direct flights from India, Pakistan and Bangladesh are permitted to arrive at Heathrow. Arrivals from Kenya are also permitted however the country has suspended all air travel to the UK. 

Only British and Irish nationals or residents of the UK are allowed to travel from countries on the list. However, quarantine is mandatory in a hotel for 10 nights, at their own cost, for anyone who has been in a red list country in the last 10 days, whether they flew direct or via another country.

There were concerns about travellers from red list areas mixing with other passengers in the immigration halls, where queues could have them waiting for quite a while. Therefore Heathrow decided to take the decision to open a separate terminal to try to stop the spread of Covid and any variants.

The airport hopes that in doing so, it will enable Border Force to carry out duties more efficiently as the passenger volumes increase due to the Green List. 

The current system for arrivals from  a Red List country requires a mandatory negative Covid tests, mandatory use of face coverings, social distancing and enhanced cleaning regimes and ventilation in immigration halls.

Go Scoble
Talk toGo Scoble
07954 042514 Enquire now

Related offers

See all offers

A selection of our partners